Buprestidae of South Australia
( Jewel beetles )
by Peter J. Lang
Temognatha fortnumii   (Hope, 1843)
subfamily  Buprestinae » tribe  Stigmoderini » subtribe  Stigmoderina
Temognatha fortnumii   Adult images
Temognatha fortnumii, AMS, male, photo by Allen Sundholm, from NSW Temognatha fortnumii, AMS, male, photo by Allen Sundholm, from NSW
Temognatha fortnumii  Distinctive features

Head, pronotum and elytra predominantly dark metallic blue; pronotum with yellow margins and elytra with three transverse yellow bands; legs and ventral side metallic green.


This species was named by Hope 1843 in honour of a Mr Fortnum who collected the type material in Adelaide. Hope 1845 specifically notes; 'The above insect was taken at the new settlement named Adelaide'. Tepper 1887 describes it as 'a rare species, being extremely shy and swift flying'.

SA Regions¹:  FRMUSL
Australian States:  SAVICNSW
South Australia distribution
LegendP.J.Lang collection vouchered records
other private collection or museum specimens, or sightings
Satellite map
Terrain map
Enlarge map
Adult activity records for Temognatha fortnumii  (total of 1 beetles)
Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun
live emerged adults, count > median value of 1 per quarter month
live emerged adults, count <= median value of 1
live non-emerged adults only, for that quarter month
number of active beetles for that quarter month
Host plant notes

Temognatha fortnumii has a definite association with Casuarina trees. Goudie 1920 reported a specimen taken at Birchip in western Victoria 'flying amongst a grove of bull-oak trees' [= Allocasuarina luehmannii]. The specimen mapped here from the MU region was collected at Koomooloo, ENE of Burra, from 'Black oak scrub' [= Casuarina pauper]. Tepper 1887 established Drooping Sheoak Allocasuarina verticillata (then known as Casuarina quadrivalvis) as a larval host on the basis of adult specimens that he extracted from its roots and trunks.

¹ LegendregionsSA State Herbarium regions (map)
EA: Eastern, EP: Eyre Peninsula, FR: Flinders Ranges, GT: Gairdner-Torrens, KI: Kangaroo Island, LE: Lake Eyre, MU: Murray, NL: Northern Lofty, NU: Nullarbor, NW: North-Western, SE: South-Eastern, SL: Southern Lofty, YP: Yorke Peninsula